@bowtieadmission

Home » Uncategorized » For the next several weeks I plan to focus my blog on the realties we face in contemporary enrollment work and the implications for enrollment leaders #admissions #emchat #highered

For the next several weeks I plan to focus my blog on the realties we face in contemporary enrollment work and the implications for enrollment leaders #admissions #emchat #highered

Archives

Categories

I recently led a webcast titled “Enrollment challenges 2015 and beyond: Shifting demographics, decreasing numbers and implications for enrollment management.”

The webcast for Paper Clip Communications was a great chance for me to think critically about the profession of enrollment management and the challenges we face. Over the next several weeks, I will opine on each of the following trends/themes that have me thinking.

I hope to identify the implications for enrollment leaders.

The realities I discussed in the webcast and will write about in the coming weeks include:

  1. We can’t afford what we’ve become.
  1. Demographic change will lead to significant changes on many campuses and will bring more focus to strategic enrollment planning.
  1. Alternative selection criteria are likely to take hold and become the norm.
  1. The VP for enrollment will continue to be on the “hot seat,” which will result in significant enrollment fluctuations and tremendous “churn” in the profession.
  1. Career Services and outcomes will be as important as financial aid, location, strength of major, and fit when choosing a college.
  1. Making the class will not longer be an indicator of success.
  1. New numbers will become the focus for financial aid.
  1. There will continue to be price and net-price experimentation, but no new model will emerge.
  1. Effective strategic enrollment management will take on increased importance.

Some of these realties have been discussed widely (demographics); others have not been explored as thoroughly. I plan to look at the implications of these realities to try to stimulate some discussion. I look forward to sharing my thoughts with you and highlighting the implications for our profession, higher ed and for enrollment leadership. I hope you will follow along and perhaps join in the discussion.

Kent Barnds a.k.a. @bowtieadmission

Leave a Reply

